Governor Kelly adds counties to disaster declaration

Matthew Harding
May 27, 2019 - 8:41 pm

Getty Images


Kansas Governor Laura Kelly has added more counties to a disaster declaration that was signed earlier this month. Hodgeman, Linn and Marshall counties have been added, bringing the total to 49 across the state.

The declaration also includes Sedgwick, Butler, Chase, Harvey, Kingman, and Sumner counties.

Sunday, the Governor sent a request to President Trump asking for the federal government's help with the flooding.

Mandatory evacuations were ordered Monday in the southeast Kansas town of Coffeyville, where the Verdigris river will crest at 26.3 feet this morning.

Residents in Burrton and Haven have been asked to limit their water usage to prevent bigger problems with the sewer system.


Comments ()