Kansas superintendents work together to address teen suicide

August 12, 2018 - 11:17 am

Kansas superintendents are working together to fight teen suicide.

The Kansas City Star reports that Blue Valley, De Soto, Gardner Edgerton, Olathe, Shawnee Mission and Spring Hill school districts in Johnson County have announced plans to work together on the issue. The districts also plan to consult mental health providers, parents, religious leaders and local businesses.

Tim DeWeese is the executive director of Johnson County Mental Health. He says it's an unprecedented collaboration for the area, as school leaders and community groups have typically worked separately on mental health and suicide prevention programs.

Johnson County Mental Health says the teen suicide rate in the county has nearly doubled in the first six months of 2018. Eight teens died by suicide last year through November 2017, two more than in 2016.

Comments ()