San Francisco places 22 states including Kansas on government blacklist

October 22, 2019 - 10:22 am

San Francisco City officials are now banning employees from taking government-funded work trips to 22 different states across the country; citing local abortion restrictions for the new set of guidelines.

“Every day in this country, women’s reproductive rights are threatened, and we have to fight back. Just as we restricted spending with states that have laws that discriminate against LGBTQ people, we are standing up against states that put women’s health at risk and that are actively working to limit reproductive freedoms,” San Francisco Mayor London Breed said in a statement.

“By limiting travel and contracting with certain states, we are sending a clear message to states that disregard the right to abortion,” she added.

The states on the blacklist include Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, West Virginia and Wisconsin.

Nine states – Alabama, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota and Texas – were already on the city’s list because of non-specialized policies regarding LGBTQ+ individuals.

The blacklist goes into effect January 1, 2020.

Comments ()