Sedgwick County April Burn Ban

April 03, 2020 - 8:35 am

Sedgwick County Fire District 1 reminds residents that a burn ban imposed by the state of Kansas will be in effect in Sedgwick County during the month of April. 

New open burn permits will not be issued during the month of April and, since March 31, no current permit holders have been allowed to conduct open burns. Open burns may resume after April 30, 2020.

The ban includes all open burning of any waste, including vegetation and wood waste, structures, or other material on any premises. 

The following counties will be affected along with Sedgwick County: Butler, Chase, Chautauqua, Cowley, Elk, Geary, Greenwood, Johnson, Lyon, Marion, Morris, Pottawatomie, Riley, Wabaunsee and Wyandotte.

Exceptions to the open burn ban include pasture, crop, range and wildlife or watershed management. The allowed burning operations will still require a valid permit from Sedgwick County Fire District 1. Burn permits may be requested online at or by calling (316) 660-3473.

Please call 911 before you burn.

Comments ()