Tuesday is Election Day

Steve Boyer
April 09, 2017 - 2:41 pm


WICHITA, Kan. (KNSS) - Kansans will vote in a special election for the first time since 1950 on Tuesday. That election was to replace Rep. Herbert Meyer who died in office. State Highway Commissioner Myron V. George defeated attorney Barnes Griffin for the position.

This election  is replace Mike Pompeo, who was appointed to head the Central Intelligence Agency in January of this year. He resigned his 4th district congressional post upon being confirmed for the CIA job by the Senate.

The Wichita Eagle reports when our government was being established, the House of Representatives was considered the "peoples house" of Congress, so only "the people" can fill vacancies there.

There will be three names on Tuesday's ballot. Republican Ron Estes, who was elected in 2011 and again in 2014 as State Treasurer,  Democrat James Thompson, an Attorney, and Libertarian Chris Rockhold, who is a flight instructor from Wichita.

Although a few polling places have moved, voting hours remain the same. Polls will open at 7:00 am, and close at 7:00 pm. 

To find out where your polling place is, you can check online at sedgwickcounty.org/elections and click on the "Where do I vote" link on the screen, or you can call the election office at 316-660-7100 for information on where you can vote.

Be sure to have a state-issued photo ID such as a driver's license or non-license ID with you when you go to your polling place. Passports will also be accepted, as will public-employee and military badges, public assistance ID, College student ID, and concealed carry gun licenses.

You must already be a registered voter to cast a ballot in this election.

Comments ()