Voters select Wichita City Council, school board members 

November 07, 2017 - 10:12 pm

WICHITA, Kan. (KNSS) – Voters on Tuesday, selected the candidates to fill seats on the Wichita City Council, and the Wichita School Board.

In the District 1 race, current councilwoman Lavonta Williams had reached her term limit. Vying for her seat were Brandon Johnson and Mike Kinard. Johnson won with 65% of the vote. Kinard received 34%.

District 3, Incumbat James Clendenin received 70% percent of the vote over William Stofer with 28%.

In District 6, Cindy Claycomb received 86% of the vote and will take over for Janet Miller.  Her opponent Sybil Strum received 12%.

In the Wichita school board race, in District 1, Ben Blankley was declaired the winner with a narrow 123 vote margin over Betty Arnold, 7,627 to 7,524.

In District 2 school board race, Julie Hedrick won with 44% of the vote in a three way race.

In District 5 Mike Rodee won with 64% of the vote.
In District 6 Ron Rosales had 49% of the vote in that three way race.  

CLICK HERE for more results from the November 7, General Election.

Comments ()